As an Amazon Associate I earn from qualifying purchases. Links to Amazon on this page are affiliate links.
The 6 best electric scooters for commuting in 2026, by real range
Updated
Short version: if you ride most days and roll the scooter more than you carry it, I'd pick the Segway Ninebot MAX G2. It has a big battery, air tires, dual suspension and a stated IPX5 rating. If you must carry it, the Hiboy S2 MAX has about the same battery at 41.4 lb. For a short hop to the train, the 27 lb Gotrax GXL V2 is the one to lift.
Quick comparison
| Scooter | Battery | Claimed range | Our estimate, 180 lb rider | Max load | Carry weight | Tires | Water rating |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Gotrax GXL V2 | 187.2Wh | 12 mi | 7 to 10 mi | 220 lb | 27 lb | 8.5 in solid (honeycomb) | Not stated |
| Segway Ninebot E2 Pro | 275Wh | 24.9 mi | 10 to 14 mi | 265 lb | 41.4 lb | Pneumatic (air) | IPX4 |
| Hiboy S2 Pro | 417.6Wh | 25.6 mi | 15 to 21 mi | 220 lb | 35.9 lb | 10 in solid | Not stated |
| Segway Ninebot MAX G2 | 551Wh | 43 mi | 20 to 28 mi | 265 lb | 53.5 lb | 10 in self-healing tubeless (air) | IPX5 |
| Hiboy S2 MAX | 556.8Wh | 40.4 mi | 20 to 28 mi | 220 lb | 41.4 lb | 10 in pneumatic (air) | Not stated |
| Hiboy MAX Pro | 720Wh | 46.6 mi | 26 to 37 mi | 265 lb | 51.6 lb | 11 in pneumatic (air) | Not stated |
"Our estimate" is fast riding to mixed riding for a 180 lb rider with 90 percent of the battery usable. The math is on the range calculator page. "Not stated" means we did not see a water rating in the listing sections we checked. It does not prove the scooter has none, so ask the seller.
Maker claimOur estimate
- Gotrax GXL V212 mi10 mi
- Segway Ninebot E2 Pro24.9 mi14 mi
- Hiboy S2 Pro25.6 mi21 mi
- Segway Ninebot MAX G243 mi28 mi
- Hiboy S2 MAX40.4 mi28 mi
- Hiboy MAX Pro46.6 mi37 mi
On every scooter here, our mixed-riding estimate for a 180 lb rider lands between 56 and 83 percent of the claim, and fast riding lands lower still. That is not because the claims are made up. They are measured in the best case.
The picks
I looked for big brands with large owner bases on Amazon: Segway Ninebot, Hiboy and Gotrax. NIU scooters were listed, but the listing we read did not state battery watt-hours, so we could not estimate range. I did not find an Apollo commuter scooter with much owner feedback on Amazon that day.
Specs and owner feedback checked on Amazon September 18, 2026.
Gotrax GXL V2
Buy this if your ride is short, like home to the train, and you have to carry the scooter up stairs. At 27 lb it is by far the lightest here. Skip it if your trip is more than about 3 miles each way, you weigh over 220 lb, or your streets are rough. The battery is small and the tires are solid.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 250W motor, 15.5 MPH top speed (listing)
- 36V 5.2Ah battery (187.2Wh). Maker claims up to 12 miles "under optimum conditions"
- 8.5 inch honeycomb solid tires, front suspension (spec table)
- Brakes: the listing graphic shows EABS plus a rear disc brake. The spec table just says rear braking
- 27 lb, folds to 43.7 x 17.3 x 16.1 in, max load 220 lb, 4 hour charge (listing)
- Water rating: not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026
- UL 2272: a bullet says the scooter has "UL2272 certification"
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it rides smoothly, is easy to carry for short commutes, and folds small enough to go in a car trunk.
- They complain about: Battery life, speed and durability get mixed reports. Some say the battery drains fast, and some say the scooter broke down within months.
Good
- Lightest scooter on this list by a wide margin
- Solid tires cannot go flat
- Motor only starts once you kick to about 1.87 MPH, which stops surprise take-offs
Watch out for
- Smallest battery here. Expect about 7 to 10 miles for a 180 lb rider
- Solid tires and 8.5 inch wheels ride harsh on cracked pavement
- 220 lb max load
Segway Ninebot E2 Pro
Buy this if you want air tires and a stated IPX4 water rating on a shorter commute, from a big brand. Skip it if your round trip is more than about 10 miles. This listing sells several E-series models on one page, so make sure E2 Pro is the version selected before you order.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 350W nominal motor, 750W max (technical specifications)
- 275Wh battery (7,650 mAh)
- Maker range by mode: 24.9 miles in Eco (9.3 MPH), 21.7 in D (12.4 MPH), 16.8 in Sport (18.6 MPH)
- Pneumatic tires at 45 psi, give or take 3. Front suspension
- Front drum brake plus rear electric brake
- Machine IP rating IPX4
- 41.4 lb net, max load 265 lb, rider height 4 ft 5 in to 6 ft 5 in, age 16 and up, 5.5 hour charge
- UL: the title says "UL 2272 & 2271 Certified" and a bullet says the E2 Pro is "UL-2272 certified"
- Some bullets on this shared page (15.5 MPH, up to 25 miles) appear to describe a different E-series model. Check the model before you buy
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it well built and smooth, with good speed. One reports about 15 miles at top speed on a full charge.
- They complain about: Durability is mixed. Some report it broke after about a month, while others say it has lasted more than a year.
Good
- The maker publishes range for each speed mode, so you can see range fall as speed rises
- Air tires ride softer than solid tires
- Stated IPX4 rating and a 265 lb load limit
Watch out for
- Small battery for its weight. Expect about 10 to 14 miles
- Heavy for its range at 41.4 lb
- Mixed owner reports on durability
Hiboy S2 Pro
Buy this if you never want to fix a flat and your roads are mostly smooth. It has 10 inch solid tires, rear shocks and a mid-size battery at about 36 lb. Skip it if you weigh over 220 lb or ride on rough, broken pavement, because solid tires pass every bump to your feet.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 500W motor, up to 19 MPH (listing)
- 36V 11.6Ah battery (417.6Wh). Maker claims up to 25.6 miles
- 10 inch solid tires, rear dual shock absorbers
- Disc brake plus EABS electronic brake
- 35.9 lb in the spec table. Hiboy's own comparison chart on another listing shows 39.7 lb
- Max load 220 lb, 8 hour charge (spec table)
- Water rating: not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026
- UL 2272: the listing says the scooter "passed stringent UL 2272 testing" and names the lab as UL. Ask the seller for the certificate if your city or building requires one
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it climbs hills well, reaches about 20 MPH, feels solid and rides smoothly on smooth pavement.
- They complain about: Battery and reliability are mixed. Some report a battery that stopped charging or a scooter that cut out mid-ride, and a few report handlebars breaking.
Good
- Solid tires cannot go flat
- Rear shocks take some sting out of solid tires
- Mid-size battery at a carryable weight
Watch out for
- Expect about 15 to 21 real miles, not 25.6
- 220 lb max load
- Mixed owner reports on batteries and reliability
Segway Ninebot MAX G2
Buy this if you ride most days and mostly roll it rather than carry it. It has a big 551Wh battery, dual suspension, self-healing tubeless tires, a stated IPX5 rating and a 265 lb limit. Skip it if you have stairs every day. At 53.5 lb it is the heaviest scooter here. This page also sells the G3 models, so check that MAX G2 is selected.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 450W nominal motor, 1,000W max, up to 22 MPH (listing)
- 36V 15.3Ah battery (551Wh). Maker claims up to 43 miles
- 10 inch self-healing tubeless tires at 42 to 48 psi
- Front hydraulic and rear spring suspension
- Front drum brake plus rear electronic brake. Traction control
- Machine IP rating IPX5
- 53.5 lb net, max load 265 lb, rider height 3 ft 11 in to 6 ft 6 in, age 16 and up, 6 hour charge
- UL 2272: a bullet says "UL-2272 certified for electrical safety"
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners like the quick acceleration and the smooth, comfortable ride. Some carry it onto buses and call it a good commuter.
- They complain about: Battery and reliability are mixed. Some report charging problems, and some say it did not work right out of the box.
Good
- Big battery, air tires and dual suspension together
- Highest water rating we saw on this list (IPX5)
- 265 lb max load
Watch out for
- Heaviest scooter here at 53.5 lb
- Expect about 20 to 28 miles, not 43
- Owner reports on charging and out-of-box problems are mixed
Hiboy S2 MAX
Buy this if you want a big battery and air tires but still need to carry the scooter sometimes. It has a 556.8Wh battery at 41.4 lb. Skip it if you weigh more than 220 lb, or if you ride in the rain a lot, because we did not see a water rating on the listing.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 500W motor. Eco 11, Normal 16 and Sport 19 MPH (listing)
- 48V 11.6Ah battery (556.8Wh). Maker claims up to 40.4 miles
- 10 inch pneumatic tires with a split wheel hub, which Hiboy says makes changing a tube easier
- Front mechanical drum brake plus rear regenerative e-brake
- 41.4 lb, folds to 44.1 x 18.9 x 20.9 in, max load 220 lb (listing)
- Water rating: not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026
- UL 2272: the listing says it "passed the stringent UL2272 certification" and names the lab as UL LLC
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners say it is easy to ride, smooth, reaches about 19 MPH and handles hills.
- They complain about: Battery life and durability are mixed. Some report battery problems, weak brakes, or the scooter stopping suddenly.
Good
- About the same battery as the Segway MAX G2 at 12 lb less
- Air tires ride softer than solid tires
- Split hub is meant to make flat repairs easier
Watch out for
- 220 lb max load
- No water rating seen on the listing
- Some owners mention weak brakes and battery problems
Hiboy MAX Pro
Buy this if you have a long commute or weigh up to 265 lb. It has the biggest battery here at 720Wh, 11 inch air tires and dual suspension. Skip it if you have to carry it often, since it weighs 51.6 lb, or if you need a stated water rating. Some owners report far less range than the battery suggests, so test it in the return window.
Key specs (from the manufacturer listing)
- 500W motor, 650W peak in the title. Eco 11, D 16 and S 22 MPH (listing)
- 48V 15Ah battery (720Wh). Maker claims up to 46.6 miles
- 11 inch pneumatic tires, front and rear suspension
- Front and rear drum brakes plus electronic braking
- 51.6 lb, max load 265 lb, 8 hour charge (spec table)
- Warranty: 12 months or 6 months depending on the part (listing)
- Water rating: not stated in the listing sections we checked on September 18, 2026
- UL 2272: the listing says the scooter "passed stringent UL 2272 testing" and names the lab as UL LLC. Ask the seller for the certificate if your city or building requires one
Recurring themes in owner feedback
- They like: Owners call it well built, smooth and fun, with good control when speeding up.
- They complain about: Range reports are mixed, and some owners say they get only 10 to 13 miles on a charge. Some also say it stopped working after a few rides.
Good
- Biggest battery on this list
- 265 lb max load
- Drum brakes on both wheels
Watch out for
- 51.6 lb to carry
- Some owners report only 10 to 13 miles a charge, far below our estimate of 26 to 37. Check yours early
- Shorter warranty on some parts
Before you order
- Check that your weight plus your bag is under the max load, with room to spare. See weight limits.
- Two of these listings sell several models on one page. Make sure the model you want is the one selected.
- Read exactly what the listing says about UL 2272. See UL 2272 and battery safety.
- Ride it hard in the first week, while you can still return it. Time a full charge on your real route.
- Check your city's rules and get a helmet. CPSC says to always wear a bicycle helmet on a scooter.